livres-enfants-feministes-little-people-big-dreams-cecilia-koch

How did these books land in my library?

It was while scrolling through Instagram that I first saw them. They are books from the Little People Big Dreams collections, written by a Spanish author, Maria Sanchez Vergara. After the birth of her two nieces, Alba and Claudia, she became aware of the rigid and stereotypical image of women in children’s literature. The princess is always doomed to wait for a potential prince to be happy and successful in life. Maria knew the history of passionate women, strong and capable of realising their true dreams. These stories had to be brought to light.

Shortly afterwards, it’s another book, Bad girls throughout History, that finally convinces me that things are changing in children’s publications. The women who made history are sadly absent from school books. But these new publications revive our collective memory.

They broke taboos, showed that the impossible is possible. It was time to tell this to children.

I was seduced the very second I learned about the existence of these books. Woman is the future of man, certainly, but she has also been his past. I am pleased that my two little boys know the names of these women who fought to live their lives as they wished: without convention, without condition.

Ann shen

First impressions

In my memories the first Little People Big Dreams from my collection was Frida Khalo. Then Marie Curie, Maya Angelou, Amelia Earhart, Audrey Hepburn and Coco Chanel came to join the ranks. My last few are Rosa Parks and Emmeline Pankhurst.

Each figure has a different illustrator and a designated cover colour. These works are short biographies in which Maria Sanchez tries to tell a life story by adopting a positive viewpoint, full of hope. She does not hide the problems and difficulties of each character, but approaches them in a way that young minds can understand.

Bad Girls throughout History, written and illustrated by Ann Shen, is a single collection of 100 short biographies. There is a double page dedicated to each life, organised in chronological order. Lilith, Adam’s first wife, opens the story and Malala Youzafzai closes it again.

Reading it as a woman and mother I am overwhelmed by two feelings. Pride and admiration to see so many women whose way of life followed their will only, but also shame to know them all. Lilian Bland, Anna May Wong, Valentina Tereshkova…

Little people Big dreams

Closing the book

As Maria Sanchez Vergara said, “children are like sponges that absorb the world around them. We adults are responsible for the world we present them with. Little People Big Dreams is not intended to be a series just for girls, but we need a starting point. We have to destroy the stereotypes that stigmatise people on the basis of gender. The real message of this collection is that we can all realise our dreams, as long as they belong to us and are not imposed by others. I would like the series to grow with stories of extraordinary men who break apart the stereotype of the tough, strong and courageous hero – men such as Nelson Mandela or Rudolf Noureev.”

Thus while closing the book I simply thought of authors to whom I would like to say thank you. And I only wish for one thing, that all these wonderful books could be quickly translated into French for me to offer to all my nieces and nephews!

Little People Big Dreams, by Maria Isabel Sachez
Bad Girls throughout History, 100 remarkable Women who changed the world, Ann Shen

1 comment

  1. Leca
    19th November 2017, 9:49

    Bonjour, merci pour cet article !
    Je les cherche depuis quelques temps mais pouvez-vous me confirmer qu’ils n’existent qu’en anglais ?
    Merci beaucoup

Leave a comment

Erreur : merci de remplir votre nom et votre e-mail !

livres-enfants-feministes-little-people-big-dreams-cecilia-koch

Comment ces livres sont-ils arrivés dans ma bibliothèque ?

C’est en flânant sur Instagram que je les ai vus la première fois. Eux, ce sont les livres de la collection Little People Big Dreams, écrits par une auteure espagnole, Maria Sanchez Vergara. C’est à la naissance de ses deux nièces Alba et Claudia, qu’elle prend conscience de l’image rigide et stéréotypée des femmes dans la littérature pour enfant.
La princesse est toujours condamnée à attendre un potentiel prince pour être heureuse et réussir sa vie. Maria savait l’Histoire jalonnée de femmes passionnées, fortes et capables de réaliser leurs rêves. Il suffisait de les mettre en lumière.

Peu de temps après, c’est un autre ouvrage, Bad girls throughout History qui finit de me convaincre que les choses changent dans l’édition enfantine. Les femmes qui ont fait l’Histoire sont malheureusement absentes des livres scolaires. Ces ouvrages ravivent notre mémoire collective.

Elles ont brisé des tabous, montré que l’impossible est possible.
Il était temps de le dire aux enfants.

J’ai été séduite à la seconde même où j’ai appris l’existence de ces livres. La femme est l’avenir de l’homme, certes, mais elle a aussi été son passé.  Je suis heureuse que mes deux petits garçons connaissent les noms de ces femmes qui se sont battues pour vivre leur vie telle qu’elles la désiraient : sans convention, sans condition.

 Ann shen@Megan

Premières impressions

Dans mes souvenirs le premier Little People Big Dreams de ma collection a été Frida Khalo. Puis Marie Curie, Maya Angelou, Amelia Earhart, Audrey Hepburn et Coco Chanel sont venues grossir les rangs. Mes petits derniers sont Rosa Parks et Emmeline Pankhurst.

Chaque personnalité a un illustrateur différent et une couleur de couverture attitrée. Les ouvrages sont des petites biographies dans lesquelles Maria Sanchez essaie de raconter une vie en adoptant un point de vue positif, plein d’espoir. Elle ne cache pas les problèmes et les difficultés de chaque personnage mais les aborde sous un angle compréhensible pour de jeunes esprits.

Bad Girls throughout History, écrit et illustré par Ann Shen est un seul recueil de 100 petites biographies. Une double page pour une vie, proposée par ordre chronologique. Lilith, première femme d’Adam ouvre l’histoire alors que Malala Youzafzai la referme.

A la lecture en tant que femme et mère un double sentiment m’envahit. La fierté et l’admiration de voir autant de femmes dont le chemin de vie n’a suivi que leur propre volonté, et la honte de ne pas toutes les connaître. Lilian Bland, Anna May Wong, Valentina Tereshkova…

 Little people Big dreams@Fig_and_honey

En refermant le livre

Comme le dit Maria Sanchez Vergara, “Les enfants sont des éponges qui absorbent le monde qui les entoure.  Nous, adultes, sommes responsables du monde que nous leur présentons. Little People Big Dreams n’est pas destiné à être une série pour les filles, mais il fallait un point de départ. Nous devons rompre avec les stéréotypes qui stigmatisent les personnes en fonction de leur sexe. Le véritable message de cette collection est que nous pouvons tous réaliser nos rêves, tant qu’ils nous appartiennent et ne sont pas imposés par les autres. J’aimerais que la série grandisse avec les histoires d’hommes extraordinaires, des hommes qui brisent le stéréotype du héros dur, fort et courageux. Des hommes comme Nelson Mandela ou Rudolf Noureev.”

Alors en refermant le livre j’ai simplement pensé aux auteurs à qui je voudrais dire merci. Et je n’ai souhaité qu’une chose, que tous ces merveilleux livres soient vite traduits en français pour pouvoir les offrir à tous mes neveux et nièces !

Little People Big Dreams, de Maria Isabel Sachez
Bad Girls throughout History, 100 remarkable Women who changed the world, Ann Shen

1 commentaire

  1. Leca
    19 novembre 2017, 9h49

    Bonjour, merci pour cet article !
    Je les cherche depuis quelques temps mais pouvez-vous me confirmer qu’ils n’existent qu’en anglais ?
    Merci beaucoup

Laisser un commentaire

Erreur : merci de remplir votre nom et votre e-mail !